Lincoln Public Schools Association of Office Professionals

Our History

The Lincoln Public Schools Association of Office Professionals was first established in 1949 under the name, the Lincoln Nebraska Public Schools Clerical Association. The purpose or mission statement was: “To promote among the clerks of the Lincoln Public Schools democratic standards and a spirit of mutual helpfulness and harmony to build friendship among co-workers and to unite them in a thinking group for service; to create a true sense of the merit and dignity of our work and the importance of the responsibility which is ours, and which would reflect in the improvement and effectiveness of the educational program of the schools as a whole.”


The earliest records are minutes from September 1957, which describe mainly social events. In 1972-1973, the organization filed papers of incorporation and changed the name to  Lincoln Public Schools Association of Office Professionals.



Although the meetings remained an important means of socializing with other secretaries in the district, more and more emphasis was put on educating the membership including staff development programs and Professional Standards Program (PSP).



The first LPSAOP negotiated salary contract was signed in 1980. Since then negotiations have been conducted each year by elected representatives.


In April 1974, LPSAOP assisted the state association with the National Spring Regional Meeting held in Lincoln, NE. In July 1980, LPSAOP helped host the Annual Meeting and Institute, which was held on the UNL campus. Five hundred people attended this event from several states including Alaska, and some people joined the event all the way from Australia.



Accomplishments of the association are notable. In 1980, John Prasch, former superintendent of Lincoln Public Schools, received the Administrator of the Year Award from the National Association of Educational Office Personnel. Wilma Borgens was the 1980 Nebraska Education Office Personnel Association’s Employee of the Year, as was Helen Underhill in 1981.



One memorable event held in past years was the Bosses’ Breakfast, which was held every January. Nominations were submitted for Boss of the Year and members would bring their bosses to a breakfast where the winner was announced. The last breakfast was held in 1994.


LPSAOP is very proud of the Dianne Grieser Memorial Scholarship, which is awarded to a graduating high school senior furthering their education. Various fundraisers are held throughout the year for this.



Over the past 73 years from when the association was established as a social group, LPSAOP has maintained their mission statement by building friendships with co-workers, serving the youth of our community, and recognizing the dignity and unique roles we have in the education system.




Dianne Grieser Memorial Scholarship Funding 2025

$0 $1500

Upcoming Events

Board Meeting Dates


Contact Us

Lincoln Public Schools Association of Office Professionals
5905 O Street
Lincoln, NE 68510

Brenda Spieker
(402) 436-1217

Jessica Mlady

(402) 436-1725